Become a Member (844) 412-3019
Become a Member (855) 830-5766

Affordable Care Act and Tax Information

The newest health care reform legislation, called “The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act” (ACA), was brought forth by the Obama Administration and is often referred to as “Obamacare”.

Among the most important aspects of this legislation, the ACA enacted the “individual mandate”, which required all Americans to purchase health insurance or hold an acceptable exemption by March 31, 2014. At the time, if you did not have health insurance or have an acceptable exemption, a financial penalty would be imposed and collected by the IRS.

Health care sharing ministries do not qualify as health insurance or meet the requirements to be minimum essential coverage (MEC), but the Affordable Care Act does include an exemption for members of recognized HCSMs. Among other requirements, a recognized HCSM requires that member medical needs were shared prior to 1999, and Trinity HealthShare, a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, meets all requirements. To view this exemption under the  Affordable Care Act,  please turn to Section 1501, page 147-148.

Beginning January 1, 2019, the above-mentioned federal mandate, which required individuals to have health insurance or to hold an acceptable exemption, such as health care sharing ministry membership, has been eliminated. The IRS Form 8965 is no longer needed, and the Form 1040 will no longer require you to verify your health care information.  

However, California, Massachusetts, New Jersey and Washington D.C. have implemented their own state-level individual mandates, which require action on the part of the member.

Please find important tax information regarding these specific states/territories:



New Jersey

Washington D.C.

If you have any questions regarding the above information, please contact the respective Department of Revenue in your state or territory. By state and federal law, Trinity HealthShare cannot assist you in filing tax documents.